Live Chat Some County offices are temporarily closed. Read more
Home | County News | Osceola County Adds Penalty to Face Covering Requirement

Osceola County Adds Penalty to Face Covering Requirement

Published on: Jul 21, 2020

PR20-69

Osceola County, Florida – Osceola County Commissioners added a penalty to an existing requirement to wear a face covering in public by a 4-1 vote on Monday in response to the continued spike in the number COVID-19 cases and the threat to public health.

Florida reported 10,347 new COVID-19 cases on Monday, marking the 6th day in a row the state has reported more than 10,000 new cases.

The County’s face covering requirement has been in place since April 13 but with cases rising and a record number of Coronavirus being reported, Commissioners last week asked for an emergency ordinance that added a penalty to that requirement. It passed Monday with Commissioner Fred Hawkins, Jr. the dissenting vote.

“Failure to comply with the Emergency Ordinance presents a serious threat to the public health, safety, and welfare, and a citation may be issued for such a violation,” the ordinance reads.

Violation is a noncriminal infraction. After a warning, a citation for a fine of $25 may be issued for second and third offenses. Subsequent offenses will bring a $50 citation per violation. While the ordinance is effective immediately, officials said enforcement will begin Friday, July 24, 2020.

“We are in the midst of a public health crisis and doing nothing was not a reasonable action,” said Commission Chairwoman Viviana Janer. “The consequences of maintaining the status quo were grave. The numbers are not going down.  It was not an easy decision but it was a necessary one to try and stop the spread of this disease. This action is well within our authority in the scope of this type of crisis and we urge everyone to take the situation seriously. Please wear a face covering in public, practice recommended social distancing and good personal hygiene.”

The following exemptions are cited:

  • Persons under the age of two years
  • Persons for whom a face covering would cause impairment due to an existing health condition
  • Persons working in a profession who do not have any face-to- face interactions with the public
  • Persons working in a profession where use of a face covering will not be compatible with the duties of the profession
  • Persons exercising, while observing social distancing in accordance with the CDC guidelines

Osceola Face Covering FAQ

Emergency Ordinance 2020-60 was approved by the Osceola County Board of County Commissioners on Monday, July 20, 2020 as conditions presented by the threat of COVID-19 continued to pose a threat to the public health that required dynamic emergency response, including the imposition of additional mitigation strategies.

  1. What does the emergency ordinance state?
  • Every person working, living, visiting, or doing business in Osceola County is required to wear a cloth facial covering consistent with the current CDC guidelines while in any public place or face a penalty.
  1. When does it go into effect?
    • Beginning on Friday, July 24, 2020.
  2. Who will enforce it? 
    • Enforceable by local law enforcement and Osceola County code enforcement, a violation of this Emergency Ordinance is a noncriminal infraction. Prior to the issuance of a citation, the individual will be asked to comply with the Emergency Ordinance or be able to state which exception applies to them.
  3. What are the penalties?
    • A citation may be issued for such a violation
    • A warning  for the first offense followed by,
    • $25 citation for second and third offenses
    • $50 citation for each violation thereafter
  4. What are the exceptions?

The following exemptions are cited:

  • Persons under the age of two years
  • Persons for whom a face covering would cause impairment due to an existing health condition
  • Persons working in a profession who do not have any face-to- face interactions with the public
  • Persons working in a profession where use of a face covering will not be compatible with the duties of the profession
  • Persons exercising, while observing social distancing in accordance with the CDC guidelines
  1. How do I report a violation?
    • Residents can call the law enforcement or code enforcement  agency in their jurisdiction via non-emergency lines.
      • Osceola County Sheriffs Office: 407-348-2222
      • Kissimmee Police Department: 407-846-3333
      • St. Cloud Police Department: 407-891-6700
      • Osceola County Code Enforcement: 407-742-0400.
      • Report other suspected COVID-19 violations to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation at www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/eo-complaints/ or call (850) 487-1395.

Background information

The order will apply until further notice. Osceola County has had a mandatory face covering order in place since April 13. The Executive Policy Group enacted an emergency order requiring all people working, living, visiting or doing business in Osceola County to wear face coverings (not face masks) while in public places from April 13 until further notice.?

A face covering, according to the CDC’s guidance, can help stop the spread of the disease, especially if someone is asymptomatic.

Face coverings should be a uniform piece of material that securely covers a person’s nose and mouth and remains affixed in place without the use of one’s hands. Examples include bandanas, t-shirts, scarves, or any other piece of cloth.

 Learn more about the importance of using face coverings and how to make your own at home:

CDC Information for Face Coverings and How to Make Coverings at Home (Sew and No Sew)


 

El Condado de Osceola Agrega Multas al Orden de Coberturas Faciales 

Condado Osceola, Florida – Los Comisionados del Condado de Osceola añadieron multas a un requisito existente del uso de coberturas faciales en público por un voto de 4-1 el lunes en respuesta al aumento continuo en el número de casos de COVID-19 y la amenaza a la salud pública. 

Florida reportó 10,347 nuevos casos de COVID-19 el lunes, marcando el sexto día consecutivo que el estado ha reportado más de 10,000 nuevos casos. 

El requisito de coberturas faciales del condado ha estado en vigor desde el 13 de abril, pero con el aumento de casos y un número récord de Coronavirus siendo reportado, los Comisionados pidieron una ordenanza de emergencia que agregó multas a ese requisito. Se aprobó el lunes con el Comisionado Fred Hawkins, Jr. el voto disidente.  

"El incumplimiento de la Orden de Emergencia representa una seria amenaza para la salud pública, la seguridad y el bienestar, y se puede emitir una multa por tal violación," se lee en la ordenanza. 

La violación es una infracción no criminal. Después de una advertencia, se puede emitir una multa de $25 por segunda y tercera ofensas. Las ofensas subsiguientes traerán una multa de $50 por violación. Mientras que la ordenanza es efectiva inmediatamente, los oficiales dijeron que la aplicación de la ley comenzará el viernes 24 de julio de 2020. 

"Estamos en medio de una crisis de salud pública y no hacer nada no fue una acción razonable," dijo la Presidenta de la Junta de Comisionados, Viviana Janer. “Las consecuencias de mantener el estado actual  son graves. Los números no disminuyen. No fue una decisión fácil, pero fue necesaria para tratar de detener la propagación de esta enfermedad. Esta acción está dentro de nuestra autoridad en el ámbito de este tipo de crisis e instamos a todos a tomar la situación en serio. Por favor, use una cobertura facial en público, practique el distanciamiento social recomendado y una buena higiene personal.” 

Las siguientes exenciones se citan en la orden: 

  • Personas menores de dos años  
  • Personas para las que una cobertura facial causaría deterioro debido a una condición de salud existente  
  • Las personas que trabajan donde no tienen ninguna interacción cara a cara con el público 
  • Las personas que trabajan donde el uso de una cobertura facial no será compatible con los deberes de su trabajo  
  • Personas que hacen ejercicio, mientras observan el distanciamiento social de acuerdo con las directrices del CDC 

 

Condado de Osceola: Preguntas Frecuentes Sobre las Coberturas Faciales 

La Ordenanza de Emergencia 2020-60 fue aprobada por la Junta de Comisionados del Condado de Osceola el lunes, 20 de julio de 2020, ya que las condiciones presentadas por el COVID-19 continúan siendo una amenaza a la salud pública que requería una respuesta dinámica de emergencia, incluyendo la imposición de estrategias adicionales de mitigación. 

  1. ¿Qué indica la orden de emergencia?  
  • Toda persona que trabaje, viva, visite o haga negocios en el Condado de Osceola debe usar una cobertura facial de tela que sea compatible con las directrices actuales del CDC mientras se encuentre en cualquier lugar público o se enfrentan con una multa.  
  1. ¿Cuándo entra en vigor? 
  • A partir del viernes 24 de julio de 2020.  
  1. ¿Quién lo hará cumplir? 
  • Aplicable por la Oficina del Alguacil, la policía local y los oficiales de la Aplicación del Código. Una violación de esta Ordenanza de Emergencia es infracción no criminal. Antes de la emisión de una multa, se le pedirá a la persona que cumpla con la Ordenanza de Emergencia o que pueda indicar qué excepción se aplica a ellos. 
  1. ¿Cuáles son las sanciones? 
  • Se puede emitir una multa por tal violación  
  • Una advertencia por la primera ofensa seguida de,  
  • Multa de $25 por segunda y tercera ofensas  
  • Las ofensas subsiguientes traerán una multa de $50 por violación 
  1. ¿Cuáles son las excepciones? 
  • Personas menores de dos años  
  • Personas para las que una cobertura facial causaría deterioro debido a una condición de salud existente 
  • Las personas que trabajan donde no tienen ninguna interacción cara a cara con el público 
  • Las personas que trabajan donde el uso de una cobertura facial no será compatible con los deberes de su trabajo  
  • Personas que hacen ejercicio, mientras observan el distanciamiento social de acuerdo con las directrices del CDC 
  1. ¿Cómo puedo reportar una violación? 
  • Los residentes pueden llamar a la Oficina del Alguacil, la policía local y los oficiales de la Aplicación del Código del Condado de Osceola a través de líneas que no son de emergencia.  
  •  Oficina del Alguacil del Condado de Osceola: 407-348-2222 
  •  Departamento de Policía de Kissimmee: 407-846-3333 
  •  Departamento de Policía de St. Cloud: 407-891-6700 
  •  Aplicación del Código del Condado de Osceola: 407-742-0400. 
  •  Reporta otras presuntas violaciones de COVID-19 al Departamento de Regulación de Negocios y Profesionales de Florida al www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/eo-complaints/ o llame al (850) 487-1395. 

 

Información de Contexto  

La orden se aplicará hasta nuevo aviso. El requisito de coberturas faciales del condado ha estado en vigor desde el 13 de abril. El Grupo de Política Ejecutiva promulgó una orden de emergencia que exige a todas las personas que trabajan, vivan, visitan o hagan negocios en el Condado de Osceola usen coberturas faciales (no máscaras) mientras estén en lugares públicos desde el 13 de abril, hasta nuevo aviso. 

Una cobertura facial, según la guía del CDC, puede ayudar a detener la propagación de la enfermedad, especialmente si alguien es asintomático. 

Las coberturas faciales deben ser un material uniforme que cubra de forma segura la nariz y la boca de una persona y que permanezca colocado en su lugar sin el uso de las manos. Ejemplos incluyen bandanas, camisetas, bufandas o cualquier otro pedazo de tela. 

Obtenga más información sobre la importancia de utilizar las coberturas faciales y cómo hacer las tuyas en casa aquí.